The Confession

Being early December it was between tension and merriment for us.Our exams were soon going to be over and then we could enjoy our Christmas holidays in peace, that was all my friend and I could think of as we tried hard to concentrate and study. Since I was going nowhere with my calculus I decided to change the subject and switch to a more comforting one ,specifically chemistry . At least all one had to do was be familiar with the compounds! As I was too lazy to get up and fetch my book from the next room I asked my friend ,on whose bed i was sprawling , for her text. As I was brushing up on my organic chemistry I found a particularly old and scrunched up piece of paper hidden deep inside the pages. It looked as though it was kept there a long time ago and somebody had forgotten to remove it. I looked over to her and seeing that she was trying to hard to grasp some math problem I decided not to disturb her and read the contents for myself. Mind you it was not like I was invading on her privacy actually we were very close to each other and shared even the tiniest and weirdest secrets with each other. It read something like this:

Why is it the same story always! My mom keeps reprimanding me for my ways . I feel sorry but yet keep treading down that very path. When am I gonna stop and mend my ways! Whenever something like this happens I make a list of things I could do to change myself ; look at the bright side and hope that this time I really succeed in my goals. But no! my minds spins around and resorts to its favourite mantra “Ignorance is bliss”. And this makes my parents sad. Reading what I have written so far you must presume I am such a considerate person and regret doing this. But the hard truth is that I don’t even try to remember this feeling of remorse when I go back to my old self. I put a shield over my thoughts and hide from my feelings which hurt me and do what I do best ,which is run away from it. I just don’t know what to do…

GEEZ! I was shocked beyond belief.I hardly expected this. I shot up a quick glance ,relieved to see her engrossed in  some work pointing the pencil at her head as if threatening her brain to make sense of whatever she was studying. I swiftly folded up the paper in a hurry not wanting my friend to see that I had not only found it but worse that I had even finished reading it.

But I couldn’t believe it. She was always so light hearted and cheerful. Yes , she had her flaws but who doesn’t? Ok maybe she spends more time watching and browsing stuff online than studying and maybe she sleeps most of the time(I do that too!) and not engage in resumé enriching activities.

Its only when I read between the lines and inspected my own life from her point of view did I understand what all the fuss was about. The note applied to me and everybody else in the same age group.The fact that we were exposed to billions of opportunities around us to gather knowledge and sharpen our skills and yet despite all this what we finally choose is to lazily lay down on our comfy beds and move only our opposable thumbs to update our WhatsApp status! Its just that we are so used to it these days that we don’t find any fault with it. But yeah all this sounded too familiar, after all I had been on the receiving end of this from my own mom plenty of times.

Sigh! I realised we have all been there. Who am I kidding? We are still living in that phase as we speak where we are too confused to know what we are doing with our lives. But its not our fault it is just how the world is programmed at present, I guess! But that still doesn’t mean we can’t do anything about it.

That night we had managed to cram for five hours and decided to take a short break. Utilising this opportunity I sat up straight and began ,”Hey girl! Just got off the phone with ma. It was the usual today! Stop wasting time! Do something productive! She looked at me ,her eyebrows raised as if asking me silently why this now and then she looked away (oh that was close!), “Ah well! I don’t really know what we should do about it.” Taking this as my cue I replied”I know ,why don’t we take up online courses during the holidays and even throw in a typing course and a bit of cooking too!” the words escaped out of my mouth even before I knew it.”Hah, your mom must have shaken you up pretty bad if you had to include cooking”. I left out a long breath. Anything to get us back on track I thought. She continued,”But you know how it is. We are too excited in the beginning to even finish it and then as usual  we leave it incomplete.” I leapt to my feet , “No! Not this time we ought to do it, not for anyone else but for ourselves , so that we can be different and stand apart from others! What do you say? “,I asked her expectantly . And she didn’t disappoint me,”You are right. Better late than never. Screw up the old routines let’s create new ones!” And did we? …yup we sure did! All it took was two things: one secret confession and one strong friendship.

 

3 thoughts on “The Confession

Leave a Reply

