Taken for granted

November 2016:

”In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life..it goes on!”

Ah…great words indeed, said by the enigmatic Robert Frost. Yes, that’s what these words were to me up until last Thursday. Nothing more than a string of letters put forward by some great prodigy after careful contemplation. Or in other words, something that I came across scrolling away on Facebook.

I had been having this recurring pain in my lower jaw for about a month now. Being how both my parents are doctors (lucky me!) I kinda took care of it on my own with the little bit of knowledge that I had gained over the years (which if simply put equals popping painkillers).But the pain just kept getting worse. I would wake up in the middle of the night..screaming and writhing in pain. Moreover this, in turn, led to disturbed sleep, loss of appetite and it went all spiralling down from there. I was left with no choice but to run home the slightest chance I got.

So what was the verdict?

Turns out it was merely a little-complicated version of cavities!

All this debacle,

          just because;

                   I was too busy to brush my teeth during those all-nighters I pulled.

                   I was too ignorant of my health

                   I took myself for granted…

And one thing that I have learnt from all this is that life stops for no one! Frost was right on that account. And neither would I  be able to make up for the precious time that I lost, not now and not in a million years! Never take your body for granted. Well..the strongest ammunition that you have with you in order to accomplish those great feats you have planned is your health. And if neglected it can cost you more damage than you could ever imagine.

Undoubtedly the greatest wealth there is, is health!

Nope, nothing beats that. After all that I have endured, I can safely vouch for it now!

4 thoughts on “Taken for granted

Leave a Reply

